After my parents moved our family to Idaho when I was 10, slowly my favorite activities and passions began to center around being outside. It started with annual Fall and Spring backpacking trips with my school's outdoor program, to planning outdoor adventures with my brothers, to eventually attending Colorado College where I officially learned to mountain bike, took my first avalanche education course, and made frequent trips to the desert and mountains to recreate. I eventually found my way back to Idaho where I've continued to prioritize the outdoors as an integral part of my life. I work as a ski patroller in the winter and am also an EMT for the fire department. I've found myself drawn to the intersection of medicine and the outdoors and plan to continue evolving my career in this field. I'm usually busy exploring new zones on my skis in the winter and brainstorming adventurous (and suffer-worthy) bike rides the rest of the year. 

Doughnuts or Bagels? Bagel and cream cheese

Home mountain range? Sawtooths/Pioneers

Fur-baby? Diesel, the Blue Heeler. He is six months old and just learning what he is capable of. He loves shredding berms and morning cuddles! 

Favorite trail / mountain?  Wow this is a hard one. I'll choose Osberg Ridge as my favorite local trail and Leatherman Peak as one of my favorite mountains to ski. 

Go-to aprés beverage? a cold IPA!

Day Job? I work as a ski patroller and EMT, a mountain bike coach and sometimes a mixologist for private events!

How are you involved in the bike/ski world? What are ways you volunteer/give back to your community? I love everything that has to do with riding on two wheels, whether that's exploring on my gravel bike, racing enduro, international mountain bike trips with friends or climbing on my road bike. In the winter, I spent A LOT of time on skis while working as a ski patroller at Sun Valley, and I spend my days off finding new places to walk around in the backcountry with my friends. I love showing kids (and other adults) why riding a bike is so fun, freeing and empowering, and coaching for the Sun Valley Devo mountain bike team has been a rewarding way to connect with the younger generation of rippers. Additionally, this is my 7th year organizing events for SheJumps with a goal of decreasing the barrier to entry for women in the outdoors.

Any big plans for the next year? My friend (and fellow pro-teamer) Lucy and I are planning a ski traverse in our home mountains that we've been dreaming up for years! I'm also very excited to travel to Guatemala for a mountain bike trip next fall! 

Favorite piece of Wild Rye gear? The Freyah Pants and the Elorie Overalls!

Follow Nicole's Adventures @_nicolejorgenson