Growing up in Connecticut, I truly never thought of the outdoors. I started teaching myself graphic design at a young age and loved spending time on my computer making Myspace layouts or playing around on photoshop. I started running track and field in highschool and fell in love with sprinting! I eventually went on to become a Division 1 400 meter hurdler for Iowa State University where I received my bachelor's degree in Creative Advertising. After graduating college, I moved to Colorado at 22 and was blown away at how much everyone loved the outdoors. Growing up in an overwhelmingly white area, I didn't think I had a place in outdoor sports. I didn't know anyone who looked like me who did them and I frankly didn't have the access or time, and couldn't afford the gear. Living in Boulder changed that for me. My friends introduced me to climbing and from there, I was hooked. I loved being outside and touching mountains, feeling dirt on my hands, pushing my bike up crazy trails. All of it.

It feels weird to think I went camping, hiking, climbing, biking, and skiing for the first time at 23 but I'm so grateful I took that chance.  Now, I am working in the outdoor industry as a Product Designer and I coach climbing at a local gym. I just received my PSIA Level 1 Ski Instructor certification and working towards becoming a certified Mountain Biking instructor as well. My goal is to help others find their place and voice in the outdoors! The sports that I never imagined doing have defined who I am and changed my life for the better. I'm looking forward to continuing to build my community of badass women looking to have fun in the mountains! 

  • Doughnuts or Bagels? Yes to Doughnuts, specifically glazed or chocolate icing with sprinkles! (I love sweets)  
  • Home mountain range?  Living in Boulder, I'm lucky to call the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains my home 
  • Furbaby?  Two crazy kitties, Paka and Nara 
  • Favorite trail / mountain? As a newbie biker, I'm having fun exploring all of the trails that the Front Range has to offer. I love skiing new mountains each season but Steamboat and Winter Park will always be my favorites  
  • Go-to aprés beverage?  If I'm skiing, a nice Bloody Mary with bacon and extra olives. Or if I'm biking, I love a good sour beer!  
  • Day Job? Product Designer at Outside

 

Follow Alyssa's adventures at @alyssajgonzalez9